Cake for Breakfast: Perfect Pancakes

“We don’t have any milk.” I had promised pancakes for breakfast. “I can go get some,” I offered, the store being only across the street. But I was still in pyjamas. “No, I’ll go get it,” Ben claimed, sporting a head-cold, and no pants. Neither of us were going to get milk. “I also forgot the copy the recipe from work.” There is a pancake recipe we use at No 9 for breakfasts that produce the fluffiest, crispiest cakes.

“I’ll just make it up.”

I sifted through my notecards of recipes in the box my grandmother had given me years ago. I had several pancake recipes, none of which I remembered liking, and all calling for milk. We never have milk in the house – I don’t believe in drinking milk, and Ben drinks soy milk. But we always have yogurt (whole-milk Stonyfield). I’d used thinned-out yogurt in place of milk before. For a cup of milk, I used 3/4 cup yogurt + 1/4 cup water.

The only relevant detail from the No 9 recipe was separating the eggs. I love thick fluffy pancakes, and whipping the egg whites adds structure and air to the batter. I also increased the sugar, to help yield the crispy edges, and increased the flour, so they wouldn’t be thin and eggy. I opted for cooking them in butter, which can only make them more delicious. The result: the best pancakes I’ve made in this house, yet.

Pancakes

Serves 2-3 (about 8 large pancakes)

1.5 cups AP flour

3.5 tsps baking powder

2 tsps salt

2 Tbs sugar

3 Tbs melted butter, cooled, plus more butter to cook

2 eggs, separated

3/4 cup whole-milk yogurt

1/4 cup water

Mix the flour, salt, baking powder, and sugar in a large mixing bowl. Add the egg yolks, melted butter, yogurt, and water. Mix well – the batter will be thick. Whisk the egg whites until they form stiff peaks. Fold them into the batter until just mixed – do not over mix. Heat a pan or skillet over medium-high heat. Melt a Tb of butter in the pan, add 1/4 cup scoops of batter. Move pancakes around pan after a minute to brown evenly. Flip once bubbles appear. Continue cooking on medium heat until cooked through. Remove to a warm plate. Add more butter to pan and continue cooking pancakes. Serve with so much butter it makes your mouth hurt. Jam and maple syrup are also good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

